What is Conversion Rate Optimisation and Why is it Important?

What is Conversion Rate Optimisation and Why is it Important?

9th June 2020

Conversion rate optimisation is focused around encouraging your website visitors to take the desired action you want them to take on a webpage, website or within a campaign. Conversion optimisation analyses the behaviour of your website visitors to focus on what motivates them to engage with specific marketing elements.

A conversion is a general term for a single website visitor that completes a goal. There are a number of different goals you can choose for tracking your conversion rate optimisation. If you have an e-commerce website for example then your main goal would be for a user to make a purchase. These are called macro-conversions. You can have smaller conversions in place that lead up to a user completing a macro-conversion called micro-conversions.

Macro-Conversions can vary depending on the type of business. From revenue-based conversions to lead and enquiry conversions they should be something along the lines of the following.

  • E-commerce order completion
  • Paid subscription sign-up
  • Member sign up
  • Contact form completion
  • Phone call

Micro-Conversions are much smaller goals that are still important to track and measure but aren’t the big main goal. For example, you could measure the number of visitors who,

  • Email newsletter sign-up
  • Blog comments
  • Watching a video
  • Sharing a blog or page via social media
  • Adding products to a basket

How to calculate your conversion rate

It’s a simple calculation to determine your conversion rate. You will need to know the number of times your goal has been completed and your site traffic over a specified date. Dividing the no. of completed goals by the number of sessions.

Unique Orders = 500     No. of Sessions = 5,000

500 / 5,000 x 100 = 10%

Why is conversion rate optimisation important?

While it isn’t directly related to improving a websites organic traffic. Or improving the ranking on a search engine results page. Conversion Rate Optimisation has a number of benefits when it comes to SEO.

Improved customer experience. Conversion rate optimisation provides great benefits for your business. Take advantage of your existing traffic. By understanding your customers’ wants and needs and encouraging repeat business you can ultimately reduce customer acquisition costs.

Enhanced Trust. Once you have improved the customer experience, other goals will start to fall into place. For a user to trust to share their card information, or in fact any sort of personal information they need to trust your site. 

Improved ROI. With a lowered customer acquisition cost and higher conversion rates, you’ll ultimately improve your ROI.

To Sum Up

By understanding your conversion rate, tracking and analysing it, you can adapt your marketing strategies to improve results. Start with a solid web analytics platform, such as Google Analytics and add tracking for your conversions.

Privacy Policy

This website is operated by Bopgun and whose registered address is Unit 4 Corum 2 Crown Way, Warmley, Bristol, England, BS30 8FJ (“We”) are committed to protecting and preserving the privacy of our visitors when visiting our site or communicating electronically with us.

This policy sets out how we process any personal data we collect from you or that you provide to us through our website. We confirm that we will keep your information secure and that we will comply fully with all applicable UK Data Protection legislation and regulations. Please read the following carefully to understand what happens to personal data that you choose to provide to us, or that we collect from you when you visit this site. By visiting bopgun.com (our website) you are accepting and consenting to the practices described in this policy.

Types of information we may collect from you

We may collect, store and use the following kinds of personal information about individuals who visit and use our website:

Information you supply to us

You may supply us with information about you by filling in forms on our website. This includes information you provide when you submit a contact/enquiry form. The information you give us may include your name, address, e-mail address and phone number.

Information our website automatically collects about you

With regard to each of your visits to our website we may automatically collect information including the following:

  • technical information, including a truncated and anonymised version of your Internet protocol (IP) address, browser type and version, operating system and platform;
  • information about your visit, including what pages you visit, how long you are on the site, how you got to the site (including date and time); page response times, length of visit, what you click on, documents downloaded and download errors.

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How we may use the information we collect

We use the information in the following ways:

Information you supply to us. We will use this information:

to provide you with information and/or services that you request from us;

Information we automatically collect about you. We will use this information:

  • to administer our site including troubleshooting and statistical purposes;
  • to improve our site to ensure that content is presented in the most effective manner for you and for your computer;
  • security and debugging as part of our efforts to keep our site safe and secure.

This information is collected anonymously and is not linked to information that identifies you as an individual. We use Google Analytics to track this information. Find out how Google uses your data at https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/6004245?hl=en.

Disclosure of your information

Any information you provide to us will either be emailed directly to us or may be stored on a secure server located in London. We use a trusted third party website and hosting provider (AWS) to facilitate the running and management of this website. AWS meet high data protection and security standards and are bound by contract to keep any information they process on our behalf confidential. Any data that may be collected through this website that we process, is kept secure and only processed in the manner we instruct them to. AWS cannot access, provide, rectify or delete any data that they store on our behalf without permission.

We do not rent, sell or share personal information about you with other people or non-affiliated companies.

We will use all reasonable efforts to ensure that your personal data is not disclosed to regional/national institutions and authorities, unless required by law or other regulations.

Unfortunately, the transmission of information via the internet is not completely secure. Although we will do our best to protect your personal data, we cannot guarantee the security of your data transmitted to our site; any transmission is at your own risk. Once we have received your information, we will use strict procedures and security features to try to prevent unauthorised access.

Third party links

Our site may, from time to time, contain links to and from the third party websites. If you follow a link to any of these websites, please note that these websites have their own privacy policies and that we do not accept any responsibility or liability for these policies. Please check these policies before you submit any personal data to these websites.

Your rights – access to your personal data

You have the right to ensure that your personal data is being processed lawfully (“Subject Access Right”). Your subject access right can be exercised in accordance with data protection laws and regulations. Any subject access request must be made in writing to Data Controller, Bopgun Design, Studio 12a Greenway Farm, Bath Road, Wick, Bristol BS30 5RL. We will provide your personal data to you within the statutory time frames. To enable us to trace any of your personal data that we may be holding, we may need to request further information from you. If you have a complaint about how we have used your information, you have the right to complain to the Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO).

Changes to our privacy policy

Any changes we may make to our privacy policy in the future will be posted on this page and, where appropriate, notified to you by e-mail. Please check back frequently to see any updates or changes to our privacy policy.

Contact

Questions, comments and requests regarding this privacy policy are welcomed and should be addressed to studio@bopgun.com.